Fred Perry

Jakarta’s very own swing group Leonardo and His Impeccable Six is back with their latest album, following their free-downloadable tribute compilation titled “Mirrors”, released on October 5th. This release, titled “Built to Race” is their second studio album of ten new tracks written by the band.

In “Built to Race”, the band is introducing their new formation. While on their first album (The Sun) the band consisted of Leonardo Ringo plus additionals, on Built to Race, the band is of seven members, known by the name of Leonardo and His Impeccable Six.

The title “Built to Race” is of their first single of the album, which is considered to represent the band’s new musical direction. Taking cues and idioms from other genres and styles, this dynamic track is inspired by band members’ experiences as bikers.

Built to Race was recorded in Tokove Studio by Risto Rangga and mixed by Andre Harihandoyo, with executive producer buttonijo, involving names such as Bonita, TIKA, Charita Utamy, The Trees and The Wild, and Bhismo from Kunokini. The band’s wardrobe on album artworks in supported by Fred Perry.

Built to Race is to be released on October 28th 2013, coinciding with the National Youth Pledge (Sumpah Pemuda). It will be available on buttonijo’s website, and is planned to be released as CD in early of 2014.

Leonardo and His Impeccable Six are Leonardo Ringo on vocal and guitar, Christo Putra on drums, Susan Agiwitanto on bass, Dharmo Soedirman on piano or hammond, Daniel Sukoco on baritone sax, Andreas Pardede on trumpet and Wahyu Maliki on trombone. For further information please visit,, or

No more articles