At the Apple Keynote today, Bono announced that U2 would be releasing their 13th studio album “Songs Of Innocence” for free via iTunes. The album will be an iTunes exclusive until mid October. After performing the phenomenal single, it was revealed that the album would be available for free to iTunes half a billion subscribers. The album is a return to the bands roots, influenced by the sounds of The Beach Boys, David Bowie, and The Clash. The first single is titled “The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)” so it is clear that Bono is referencing the sounds of his early years and what acts shaped his career. Watch the announcement video below. To download their album for free, visit the link here.

U2’s latest studio album “Songs Of Innocence”, containing 11 new tracks, will be released by Island Records on October 13th, 2014. The release follows the album being given today to subscribers and gifted by Apple to over half a billion iTunes Music Store customers worldwide. The new album is U2’s most personal work to date, charting the band’s earliest influences from 70s rock and punk rock to early 80s electronica and ambient music and giving insight into how and why the band came together. The album deals with themes of home and family, relationships and discovery and was recorded in Dublin, London, New York and Los Angeles and is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.

No more articles